Destination: Onederland

wpid-quotestags_android_app_177964.jpg

I have been thinking about how I wanted to write this particular blog post.  I did not want to write it unless I felt fully confident that I had officially arrived at this destination I have dreamed of for so very long.  Well, my friends, I am proud to announce I have arrived in Onederland. This glorious place where many people live happily and miserably; however, I choose to live happily! I had spent so many unhappy years in the 200’s.  I had even reached Onederland before but kept teetering on the line…one month 201..202..198..200..201…197..and so it has been for months and months on end.

wpid-img_879729273101808.jpeg

(Am I slightly embarrassed by stating my weight?  Um, yeah.  But you know what.  I own it.  It’s me and that is what this blog is about so I deal with it.  I know I am helping people to see that there is more to fitness than that stupid ass scale.) Even through all my struggles, I never gave up my running and commitment to exercise even though I was quite irritated.  I had successfully lost so much weight on my own through diet and exercise.  I thought my eating was great, afterall I had lost so much weight on my own.  I lived on salads, yogurts, almonds, fruit, and rice cakes.  I watched people around me make poor food choices every day.  Of course, I wanted the pizzas, bagels smothered in cream cheese, and the sandwiches.  I have always fought the temptations cause I knew what I wanted more.  As for the exercise, it has continued to be a crucial part of my lifestyle.  I rarely miss more than 2 days a week.  I knew I could not really add more than I already was.  And I have simply lived with this emotional burden for many months.  I have blogged about my utter frustration of it all and how I had thought my only choice was to give up and let it be.  Maybe this was it for me, my end of the battle.  Upon reading my blog, some friends reached out and were adamant they could help me.  Of course, I was grateful for the outreach and took them up on their offer of guidance and support.  I have kept a detailed food journal for several weeks in order for them to see what I had been doing and how changes can be made.  It was an eye-opening experience.  I was in shock over the little things I had not realized in my diet that were poor choices or simply an over abundance of certain types of foods.  Within the first 2 weeks, I had lost 5 lbs and 2% body fat!! I was so freaking happy!! This put me in Onederland! I was walking on clouds all day…all week!! However, in the back of my head, I remembered how I had temporarily there before.  I wondered if I could cross back over.  I have continued my new healthier diet and Monday was a true test day for me.  I had an annual check up at the doctor’s office.  The appointment was in the afternoon.  I knew they’d weigh me.  I had been getting weighed first thing in the morning, so I knew the afternoon weigh in had the potential to be more…and push me back over the line.  I held my breath and sucked in as much hope as I could hold in one breath on that scale.  I opened my eyes and saw it.  It was real, I am still there.  I feel elated that I am still where I needed to be! It’s real this time.  I’m learning to eat better and fuel my body with healthier foods each week.  My friends are helping me discover healthy and delicious recipes and I am loving every minute of it.  Onederland is my new home and I’m staying here for good 🙂

wpid-quotes-save-b59ae94e514284352.jpg

24 thoughts on “Destination: Onederland

  1. Emily, I had to read this twice to know what your onederland word meant LOL…This is super exciting, and you are awesome! Great attitude and job well done…always being happy and looking forward to what can be is the best:)

    • Lynda! That is so funny! I have heard it called “Onederland” before on FB and I liked it. Such a dreamy place for those that have struggled to get there. Thanks for sharing my blog 🙂

  2. Emily, that is so wonderful! It is always a journey and it’s awesome you are owning yours!! Keep learning and growing! Don’t forget to change up your workouts! Push a little harder and you will keep learning how strong you really are! I look forward to reading more of your journey.

  3. CONGRATULATIONS EMILY ❤ To be honest, at first, I had NO idea what Onederland was, I thought it had something to do with racing or running, but was even more excited for you when I read your post! KEEP IT UP GIRL, YOU GOT THIS ❤ YOU'RE OWNING IT IN ONEDERLAND!

    • Hi Amber! Thank you! I have heard it called Onederland before and I really liked it. Its the place I always wanted to get to and I still can’t believe I am here. Another 4 lbs and I hit my 100 lb weight loss!! Woot Woot!

Leave a Reply

