Carry on…

wpid-1389652571738.jpg

This is that time of year I get those depressing winter blues.  It’s inevitable.  The holidays are over, the weather is cold and unbearable, colds/sickness seems to be everywhere, and the feeling of being trapped inside is incredibly frustrating.  I try to get out for a run or two during the week, but its my kids that need to go out.  Kids need to bundle up and get out there.  I did as a kid, why are they not interested now.  Maybe the television shows, perhaps the draw of the ipad or Nintendo DS.  Its just frustrating.  On Monday, I began to develop a cough.  I thought it was something I could pretend wasn’t there.  I thought I’d just sweat it out and ignore it.  It wasn’t in my chest and I wasn’t feeling to congested, so I was to just carry on.

On Monday, it was in reported that a young mom of 3 was out running, training for the Boston Marathon and she was struck and killed by a drunk driver.  This tragic event was simply heartbreaking.  Meg Menzies was going places.  Her family needed her and I cannot understand why she was taken too soon.  The running community among social media decided to dedicate miles run on January 18 to Meg.  I was anxious to set out on some miles for her.  I wasn’t going to care if it was pouring rain or snowing like crazy, I knew I’d get out there for her; because she can no longer do what she loved.  I went on that run yesterday.  I decided to go to Narragansett to run.  I wanted the setting of the ocean and to listen to the waves crash and to smell that fresh salty air.  I ran a solid pace that kept me breathing heavy and I found myself thinking of Meg.  I wondered if she was always a runner; If this had been her passion all her life, seeing that she was a marathon runner, she must have been dedicated.  I wondered how old her kids were.  I thought they were probably young since Meg was young.  I prayed for them.  Young children often do not understand the magnitude of it all.  The finality of death is not a concept even adults can grasp.  I wondered how they were all going to carry on.  I believe they will need help from all those around their community.  I believe in the power of prayers and will continue to keep them in my heart and prayers.  I was hard to run with all these thoughts racing in my mind.  I ended my run with 4 miles dedicated to Meg.  I smiled at the end  to celebrate her life.  I bet she was an amazing person, as most runners are.  I pray that all affected are able to find peace and carry on.

wpid-IMG_20140118_173849.jpg

On a lighter note, I have a friend who is in school for health and nutrition.  She has given me some advice on the BIGGEST FREAKING weight loss plateau.  I have been told over and over again that I am not eating enough.  Yeah, Yeah, Yeah, Blah, Blah, Blah.  I know.  Only I never listened.  I can’t say why because I don’t know.  If I had to guess, I’m scared.  I’m scared to eat more and gain back the weight I have worked so very hard to lose.  My friend told the science behind it all.  Her explanation was the best I have ever heard.  She said to eat 10 calories for every pound of my goal weight.  So, my goal weight is 170, I will eat 1700 calories/day.  Then to take my calories burned in my workout (based on my heart rate monitor) and eat half.  So if I burn 610 calories, add 305 calories to the 1700 calories = 2005 calories on that day.  NO LESS.  This is by far a very exciting thing for me.  I am going to actually do it.  I plan on getting more protein in for my extra calories and hoping to see the scale move by the end of the week.  I’ll let you know how I’m doing.  Until then…carry on my friends, carry on 🙂

6 thoughts on “Carry on…

  1. I learned that eating 6 small but healthy meals a day help with hitting my calorie goal. When I don’t do this and am famished by dinner time, it’s hard to make healthy choices and end up eating too many calories. Add feeling stuffed and bloated, I then feel like total crap. Plateaus suck. Especially when they last for weeks. Just remind yourself why you started in the first place and try not to get discouraged. You got this!

    • I can see that being an issue for me too. I do need to be more mindful to eat more throughout the day and not have a huge amount of calories left at night. Thanks for the encouragement, Mary 🙂

  2. Great run! Next time you should run with us, we would love to have more company. No one is fast but we just enjoy the run and the company.

    We ran in Narragansett for Met also. It was a great run and in between the rain showers which was nice.

    • I wanted to join you, I didn’t have anyone to watch my kids until my husband came home from work. Im glad you all got together and did 25 miles for Meg. I look forward to running with you one of these days 🙂

  3. Pingback: Carry on… | Runs With HOPE

Leave a Reply

